Season of the Witch – Epilogue

Posted: January 7, 2011 in Entertainment, Reviews

Well, I’ guess I have to eat at least some of my words.  When you go into a movie expecting something really great, sometimes you’re setting yourself up for disappointment.  I wonder if the opposite is true.  If you go into a movie expecting a bomb, are you more likely to be pleasantly surprised?

I have to say the the film’s plot was cliche and the dialogue was really corny in a lot of places, but generally “Season of the Witch” was an entertaining movie.  It begins with half a decade of Crusade slaughters compressed into just a few minutes.  While it is mostly fluff, I did like the way that it historically depicted the church, and drew a real distinction between church and God.  I’m sure deep themes were not the intention here, but it worked and was at least partially gratifying.  The acting was OK.  The special effects were pretty good.  One of the best parts of the film was the setting, scenery and the it’s artistic cinematography.  There were lots of majestic landscapes and authentic looking castles.

All in all, I would give this movie a B-.

Leave a Reply

