Kobo Update

Posted: March 10, 2011 in Reviews

So now I’ve had my Kobo for almost a month and have read two and a half books on it.  I love it.  Having a light, easy to read e-reader on my Costa Rica trip was really handy.  I tend to switch back and forth between fiction and non-fiction reading, so having both options on a light, thin, easy to carry device made life easy.  Whether in a bumpy car or pool-side in bright sunlight, it was never a problem.  The only time that I couldn’t use it was in the absence of ambient light.  Some kind of a lighting option would be good, although this would reduce the charge life of the battery.  I guess books have the same lighting problem.

During the full 10 days of my trip and for a week afterward the device did not need charging.  I’m not sure that this measures up to the claim of 8 000 page turns, but it got a lot of use in that period and so was more than adequate in that department.  The charging time is 3 hours, but seeing as it so seldom needs it, that’s not such a big deal.

Would I like to see a colour version?  Sure I would, but primarily because I’d love to be able to view magazine articles on the reader, eliminating the need for the stack of magazines on my kitchen table.  But, then again, most of the fiction and non-fiction reading I do is not of the picture book variety, so it, again, it’s not a big deal.

All in all I am very satisfied.

Leave a Reply

