“The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms” by N.K. Jemisin

Posted: July 12, 2011 in Reviews

One of the goals of my summer reading is to work through the list of Hugo Nominees, to be voted on in August.  The first one that I tackled was Jemisin’s “The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms”.

I was a little disappointed that this was a Fantasy rather than I SciFi novel, as I have a distinct preference for the latter.  However I was pleasantly surprised.  The story takes place in a world where the fate of humans and Gods are intertwined in an exploration of good and evil.  Drawing from the Hindu idea that divinity is divided into good, evil and balance, the story unfolds with a slow realization of what this really means.  The world of Sky is vividly portrayed with an assortment of characters that are life like.  Through the story is also the unfolding of a mystery, which, of course, ends up being tied to the moral.

Thoroughly enjoyable, this story is like a moral ping pong game.  I give this novel an A-.

Next one I’m reading is “Feed”, which I gather is a good, old fashion zombie apocalypse story.

Leave a Reply

