Herman Cain endorses Gingrich

Posted: January 28, 2012 in Current Events, Election, politics
Tags:

I suppose that it is very hard to understand and predict the way that Republican conservatives may think.  After all, look at the social conservatives who champion family values but supporting Gingrich, who is not exactly the poster boy for conservative or Christian family values.  So who knows how they’ll respond to this latest development.

I can’t help but wonder whether some of the Republican power brokers, who have clearly indicated their nervousness over a Gingrich victory, approached Herman Cain to persuade or encourage him to put forth this endorsement.  I’m not sure how much of a help it is going to be to have this clown proclaim that Gingrich supports his tax program and has offered him an influential position as a budget adviser.  I’m not sure that these two birds of a feather flocking their forces will help Gingrich’s chances.  Maybe they can trade womanizing stories.  Like I said, who knows how these Republican social conservatives think, but if they have even a shred of sense they’re not going to be swayed by one man with shady values being endorsed by another.

And I can’t believe that the Republican establishment don’t see that.  This endorsement is more likely to harm Gingrich’s chances and I think there’s a reasonable chance that that is the intended consequence.

I certainly wouldn’t want Herman Cain endorsing me, even if I shared his ideology.

Leave a Reply

