The Monkey Wrench Gang

Posted: April 13, 2012 in Books, Entertainment, Movies
Tags:

Oh, I guess it doesn’t take much to make my day, but I was absolutely ecstatic when I stumbled on the fact the The Monkey Wrench Gang is being made into a movie with a 2013 release date.  Finally, a reason to hope that the world doesn’t end at the end of this year.

The Monkey Wrench Gang is Edward Abbey’s classic comedy novel about environmental terrorism.  It has often been dubbed one of the principal inspirations of the Earth First movement and of radical environmental activism.  But the story is really a raging, irreverent comedy that doesn’t want to take itself too seriously, -kind of like Abbey himself, in whose works I always immerse myself whenever I visit his old stomping grounds in the American South West.

One troubling note is that the movie is said to star Matthew McConaughey and John Goodman, and is being directed by the guy who directed Twilight.  There is some hope in the inclusion of Jack Nicholson, although, who knows, it may be a quick walk on.   I guess that before getting too excited I should caution myself with memories of the travesty that was done to Youth In Revolt, -a great book that was mutilated almost beyond recognition when transformed into a movie.  Ah well, one can hope.

Deeper investigation has dampened my spirits.  It looks like this film was originally scheduled to be released in 2009 and then in 2011.  Maybe it’s run into a little trouble.   Read the book.  Please.

Leave a Reply

