The Life of Pi

Posted: November 26, 2012 in Entertainment, Movies, Reviews

I read the book about ten years ago and judged it to be … odd.  I remember thinking that they could never make a movie out of it.

Well, I was wrong.  Great scripting and editing combined with fabulous and realistic special effects combine to make this one of the best movies I’ve seen in years.  On the production side, it is excellent with great acting and absolutely beautiful cinematography.  It is a visual pleasure to watch.  Add to that a story which combines action and adventure with a philosophical undertone.  I watched it and wondered why they didn’t make teenagers any more who read Camus and wondered about the meaning of life beyond the construction of their next Skyrim character.  Did they ever?  Yes, I can testify that they did.

I heard several people comment as they left the theatre that it was possibly the best movie they’d ever seen.  That says a lot.

I would give this film and A.

Leave a Reply

